Begin it

Having been considering it for a long, long time, I took this moment to finally start a blog. Why this one? I hear you cry. (Is there a good way to punctuate that? Full quotes and commas seemed ungainly, but I couldn’t abide the lack of question mark. Oh, and get used to the parenthetical remarks and grammar dilemmas; it’s what happens when you read J.D. Salinger and/or David Foster Wallace) I could give a lot of reasons, but it’s mostly because tomorrow I have to take the last exam of my undergraduate career, so naturally I’m looking for reasons not to revise aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

The underlying reason is that I need somewhere to tie down my various online outputs, to put them, or at least links to them, in one place so I can direct you lovely people towards them.

The blog title, by the way, comes from a Richard Thompson song

And the songs, they pour down like silver
They can only, only break my heart

And while we’re at it, the title of this entry is the from Goethe’s Faust:

What you can do, or dream you can do, begin it;
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.

A wonderful sentiment, but tends to encourage an already-rampant habit for starting a dozen projects and finishing none of them. Still here goes nothing.

Leave a Reply

